Dundalk FC Ladies 2-4 Balbriggan 

NEFL Women’s Division North

Dundalk FC Ladies fell short of the NEFL Women’s Division title after falling to a 4-2 defeat to Balbriggan in their final league game on Monday night. 

Eddie Conroy’s side found themselves on the backfoot early on, as they conceded a penalty just five minutes into what was a must-win game.

The Lilywhites didn’t let their heads drop and continued to battle throughout the first half but shortly before half time Balbriggan launched a counter attack and took advantage of Dundalk’s lack of numbers at the back to double their advantage going into the break.

Dundalk went all out attack early in the second half as they looked to mount a comeback, but Balbriggan capitalised again to bag two more goals to go 4-0 up early in the second period.

The hosts continued to battle despite the scoreline and they were rewarded with two goals in the final fifteen minutes, with Ayo Adesanyo and Katie Brophy getting on the scoresheet.

Despite the late flourish, the Lilywhites ran out of time to score any more goals as they fell to defeat in their final league game of the 2021 season, finishing second in the league table

DUNDALK FC LADIES: Rebecca Lambe Fagan, Aoife Byrne, Emily Johnson, Stephanie Cunningham, Ellie Gorham, Sarah McHugh, Louise Johnson, Katie Moran, Katie Brophy, Dayna Ferguson, Melissa Crosby, Shauna Ward Rice, Caoimhe Mulholland, Ailbhe Ford, Ayo Adesanyo, KerryAnn Darcy, Caoimhe Crichton.