FyffesOfficial Sponsor
Dundalk Credit Union Statsports

Dundalk retain title with dramatic 3-2 win over Rovers

First Team News
// 23 Sep 2019

Dundalk were crowned 2019 SSE Airticity League champions on Monday night after a pulsating 3-2 victory over Shamrock Rovers at Oriel Park.

Goals from Sean Hoare, Robbie Benson and a screamer from Michael Duffy were enough to give the Lilywhites the victory. Aaron Green and Aaron McEneff pegged the hosts back after they twice opened up a two-goal margin but they could not force an equaliser.

The win secures a fifth title in six seasons for Vinny Perth’s men, who retain the Premier Division crown they won in 2018.

Full report to follow.

DUNDALK: Gary Rogers; Sean Gannon, Daniel Cleary, Sean Hoare, Dane Massey; Chris Shields, Patrick McEleney (Daniel Kelly 78); Jamie McGrath, Robbie Benson (Sean Murray 68), Michael Duffy; Patrick Hoban (capt) (Georgie Kelly 87)

Substitutes not used: Aaron McCarey (GK), Brian Gartland, Cameron Dummigan, Dean Jarvis.

Booked: Cleary (18), Hoban (18)

Sent off:

SHAMROCK ROVERS: Alan Mannus; Ronan Finn (capt), Lee Grace, Roberto Lopes, Daniel Lafferty; Jack Byrne, Aaron McEneff, Gary O’Neill (Brandon Kavanagh 79); Graham Burke (Dylan Watts 73), Sean Kavanagh; Aaron Greene.

Substitutes not used: Leon Pohls (GK), Ethan Boyle, Greg Bolger, Neil Farrugia, Graham Cummins.

Booked: Finn (18)

Sent off:

Referee: Paul McLaughlin

Attendance: 3,634