Dundalk FC Ladies 0-4 Cootehill Harps

NEFL Women’s Division North

Dundalk FC Ladies endured a frustrating night at the office on Monday as they were dealt a heavy 4-0 defeat by Cootehill Harps in the NEWFL Division North. 

Dundalk seemed to be getting the better of the early exchanges but it was Cootehill who took the lead when the ball fell in the box to midfielder Amy Rooney and she fired past Kerry Ann Darcy to put the visitors ahead.

Momentum shifted in Cootehill’s favour after the goal and they pinned Dundalk back in their own half. They almost doubled their advantage on 17 minutes when a strike from Fiona McElroy hit the post before being cleared.

Half an hour passed before the hosts had their first opportunity of the game but Katie Brophy’s long-range effort was saved by Joanne Regan in the Cootehill goal.

Cootehill were then awarded a penalty in the 34th minute when Rachel Kane’s run into the box was halted by a foul from Rebecca Lambe Fagan but Darcy saved McElroy’s spot-kick.

Dundalk continued to look off the pace in comparison to their opponents and they were punished when Cootehill scored their second goal of the game with 53 minutes played when Rooney bagged her second of the game, heading home from a corner kick.

Eddie Conroy’s side did have a promising period following the introduction of Caoimhe Mulholland and Beth Hughes but Cootehill managed to hold firm at the back.

The pace of the last 10 minutes seemed to slow down in comparison to the rest of the game, but the visitors weren’t finished scoring and Rooney completed her hat-trick with 87 minutes on the clock, breaking through the backline to slot past Darcy.

The visitors added a fourth with the final kick of the game, as Nadine Cathcart nipped in ahead of Darcy to knock the ball home and wrap up the three points.

It was a very disappointing game for Dundalk who will have their minds set improving on this performance when they visit Bellurgan on Monday, August 16th at 7pm.

DUNDALK FC LADIES: Kerry Ann Darcy, Emily Johnson, Rebecca Lambe Fagan, Stephanie Cunningham, Sarah McHugh, Louise Johnson, Katie Moran, Caoimhe Crichton, Katie Brophy, Dayna Ferguson, Shauna Ward Rice. Subs: Caoimhe Mulholland, Hanna Sheerin, Ailbhe Ford, Beth Hughes, Ayo Adesanya, Rachel Mullen.