FyffesOfficial Sponsor
Dundalk Credit Union Statsports

LSC: Bohs 4-3 Dundalk

Match Report
// 4 Apr 2016

A youthful and experimental Dundalk FC were knocked out of the Leinster Senior Cup at the Quarter Final stage by a strong Bohemians team at Dalymount Park on Monday night. Stephen Kenny made ten changes from the team that started against Derry City, with only Chris Shields, who faces a suspension for this Saturday’s trip to Longford, retaining his place in the side.
There was debuts for Jake O’Connor and Keith Dalton while Robbie Benson made his first competitive start. Ciaran O’Connor returned for his first appearance since his return from a loan spell at Derry City while his brother Michael, Gabriel Sava, Anton Reilly, Georgie Poynton and Paddy Barrett were also selected with Barrett captaining the side for the first time.
Dundalk took the lead after 12 minutes against the run of play thanks to a great finish by Michael O’Connor. This was O’Connor’s first goal for the Dundalk senior team in his five appearances to date. Bohs levelled matters before the break when Anto Murphy scored with a fine finish past Sava.
The second half was a very entertaining affair. Dundalk fans know all about Kurtis Byrne who scored 26 goals in his 103 appearances over three seasons – and Byrne gave Bohs the lead after 69 minutes with a sensational shot that gave Sava no chance. Dundalk responded brilliantly and Michael O’Connor grabbed his second goal of the evening with another great finish after 74 minutes.
Byrne scored a tremendous free-kick to put Bohs 3-2 ahead after 81 minutes and then completed his hat-trick six minutes later. Dundalk refused to give up and pulled a goal back as the game was entering injury time was a header from young debutant Jordan Kelly. However, Bohs were able to see it out to go through to the semi-finals.
Bohs: Steacy, Murphy, Rooney, Best, Mulcahy, Hayes, Kelly, James Kavanagh, Byrne, Buckley, Evans. Subs: Fitzgerald for Best; Paddy Kavanagh for Buckley.
Dundalk: Gabriel Sava, Jake O’Connor, Shane Grimes, Paddy Barrett (c), Chris Shields, Anton Reilly, Keith Dalton, Michael O’Connor, Ciaran O’Connor, Robbie Benson, Georgie Poynton. Subs:  Carlton Ubaezunonu for Reilly; Jordan Kelly for Dalton. Unused Subs: Ben Kelly, Emmet Hughes, Eric Whelan, James Rice, Gareth Craven.