Bohemians 3-3 Dundalk MU15
EA SPORTS MU15 LOI Academy Group

Fresh from their third-place finish at the Norhalne Cup in Denmark, our MU15 team returned to domestic action with a thrilling 3-3 draw against Bohemians at the Oscar Traynor on Sunday.

Bohs started the game well and deservedly opened the scoring early on when Adam Colgan placed the ball through a Dundalk defender’s legs to beat Luke Moran from the edge of the box.

Dundalk established a foothold after that and when Max Halpenny won the ball on the halfway line and fed Liam McCabe, Jack Martin raced into a good position, collected the pass and found the top corner of the net with an excellent finish to make it 1-1 after 24 minutes.

Thomas McShane’s side went in front just two minutes later. Halpenny was heavily involved once more, winning the ball back again and he was rewarded for his endeavour when his attempted cross spun over the head of Bohemians goalkeeper to find the back of the net.

The Lilywhites went in search of a third and they got it just before the first third came to a close when Oisin Smith set Martin racing away down the channel and the striker cut inside, turned a Bohs defender inside out and his powerful effort went in off the goalkeeper’s arm, via the post!

Bohs came out for the second third with the strong wind at their backs and after penning Dundalk in, they reduced the arrears when Gary Commiskey Gallagher made it 3-2 going into the last 30 minutes.

The final period saw the game open up but it was the Gypsies who scored the all-important goal when Chris Idah found himself one on one with a Dundalk defender at the far post and he made no mistake with a good finish.

Needing a win to qualify for the Elite Phase, Dundalk threw extra attackers on in the final stages and they were caught in stoppage time when Bohs were awarded a penalty but, thankfully, the spot kick went over the crossbar.

DUNDALK FC MU14: Nathan Keenan, Joe Smith, Roan Hickey, Vincent Leonard, Jay Madigan, Jack Martin, Shay Casey, Liam McCabe, Oisin Smyth, Max Halpenny, Dapo Annunlopo. Subs: John Markham, Karl Stenson-Browne, Fahd Nil Monney, Cian Makey, Lee Casey, Calum Woods, Alex Gaughran, Tadgh Gorman, Conor Patterson.