FyffesOfficial Sponsor
Dundalk Credit Union Statsports

Perth named PFAI Manager of the Year

First Team News
// 9 Nov 2019

Dundalk head coach Vinny Perth has been named the Professional Footballer’s Association of Ireland (PFAI) Manager of the Year for 2019.

The Lilywhites boss guided his side to the SSE Airtricity League title in his first year in the top job at Oriel Park, along with the EA Sports Cup and President’s Cup.

His side came within a penalty shootout of FAI Cup glory at the Aviva Stadium last weekend, which would have secured a historic treble, whilst the possibility of the Unite the Nations Champions Cup remains very much alive.

Dundalk’s dominance of the domestic season was also reflected in the PFAI Team of the Year, which included five Dundalk players: Sean Gannon, Sean Hoare, Chris Shields, Michael Duffy and Patrick Hoban.

Dundalk duo Sean Gannon and 2018 winner Michael Duffy were nominated for PFAI Player of the Year but missed out on the top prize to Shamrock Rovers’ Jack Byrne.

Bohemian FC’s Daniel Mandroiu was named PFAI Premier Division Young Player of the Year.

The full list of award winners can be found below.

9 November 2019; PFA Ireland Premier Division Team of the Year, from left, Alan Mannus of Shamrock Rovers, Sean Gannon of Dundalk, Sean Hoare of Dundalk, Lee Grace of Shamrock Rovers, Sean Kavanagh of Shamrock Rovers, Daniel Mandroiu of Bohemian FC, Jack Byrne of Shamrock Rovers, Michael Duffy of Dundalk, Pat Hoban of Dundalk and David Parkhouse of Derry City, during the PFA Ireland Awards 2019 at The Marker Hotel in Dublin. Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile


Manager of the Year: Vinny Perth, Dundalk
Player of the Year: Jack Byrne, Shamrock Rovers
Young Player of the Year: Danny Mandroiu, Bohemian FC
First Division Player of the Year: Rob Manley, Cabinteely
First Division Manager of the Year: Tim Clancy, Drogheda
Overseas Player of the Year: Enda Stevens, Sheffield United
Women’s Senior International Player of the Year: Denise O’Sullivan, North Carolina Courage
Premier Division Referee of the Year: Michelle O’Neill
First Division Referee of the Year: Alan Patchell