FyffesOfficial Sponsor
SbobetDundalk Credit UnionStatsports

U19s | Drogheda 1-5 DFC

Match Report
// 6 Aug 2017

Our Under 19s booked their place in the semi finals of the Enda Mc Guill Cup with a 5-1 victory away to Drogheda United on Saturday afternoon in a similar score line as to when the two sides met in a league encounter earlier in the season.

In a manner akin to the league encounter it was the Boynesiders who took an early lead- Conor Fitzsimons with a strike after less than two minutes to open the scoring for Derek Doyle’s side. However, this time the young Lilywhites didn’t allow the deficit to last for the first half as Jack O Keefe continued his rich vein of goal scoring form by converting a penalty after 19 minutes.

The away side then took the lead as winger Ubaezuono, another consistent goal scorer this term, latched onto some defensive hesitancy to find the corner of the net and give Martin Connolly’s troops a 2-1 lead at the break.

Half time -Drogheda United 1 Dundalk FC 2

The lead was extended within ten minutes of the restart as Ubaezuono headed a Dean Watters corner to the net. Having recently notched a treble in a league encounter against Finn Harps, the left sided attacker was on course for another hat trick. However, it was the scorer of three goals in the previous round of the cup, that man O Keefe, who notched number four after capitalising on a mistake at the back.

Ubaezuono was not to be denied the match ball and duly converted his third goal of the game after a fine counter attack in the 70th minute.

The last twenty minutes passed without any more scoring and the Oriel Park side booked an away trip to Cobh Ramblers in the semi finals.

Final score- Drogheda United 1 Dundalk FC 5

Dundalk FC: Matt Lyons; James Woods, Gavin Smith, Eric Whelan, Emmett Hughes; Dean Watters, Jake O Connor; Cian Flynn, Aaron Townley; Carlton Ubaezuono; Jack O’ Keefe

Substitutes: Oisín Finn, Adam Finnegan, Scott Prendergast, Shane Gregory, Seán O’Hanlon, Shaun Whelan, Kevin Kelly, James Rice

Drogheda United: Dylan Sweeney; James Carroll, Craig Darcy, Emmett Carolan, Sam Reilly; Brian Cabraley, Kyle Molloy, Eoin Broughan, Mark Doyle, Karl Fitzsimons, Conor Grogan

Substitutes: Harry Hogan, Tom Mc Carthy, Gavin Taylor, Lee Mc Guinness, Stephen Doran, Leo Tang, Michael Mc Hugh


Picture credit: L.McQuillan/Drogheda Utd