St Patrick’s Athletic U14 2-1 Dundalk FC U14

EA Sports U14 National Underage League Group B

Dundalk U14s were defeated in their final National Underage League Group B game in a close contest against St Patrick’s Athletic on Saturday afternoon. 

The first half was all about quality defending, with Boris Biekhou and Rhys O’Hare, in particular, standing out with some sturdy defensive performances. St Pat’s were in control of the ball for large periods, but the Lilywhites held firm throughout the opening half-hour.

Despite being on the back foot, Dundalk still created chances for themselves, with Jayden Clarke going closest with a thunderbolt that flew just over the bar.

At the other end, Graham Donner was in good form, as he produced some high quality saves to keep the sides level. However, St Pat’s eventually found the breakthrough to go 1-0 up shortly before the half-time break, heading past Donner from a corner kick.

The heavens opened and rain began to pour as the second half began, as Pat’s continued to control proceedings. After a short stoppage due to lightning, the hosts extended their lead after the Lilywhites found themselves unprepared for a short corner, and the Saints took full advantage to double their lead.

Dundalk responded well after conceding, reducing their opponents to counter attacks, from which Donner made more superb saves to ensure his side still had a chance to get back in the game.

Simon Kelly’s side continued to push for a goal, and they were finally rewarded five minutes from the end, as Caimin Hughes slotted home with the goal at his mercy.

Jayden Clarke had a great opportunity to equalise just before the final whistle, but the Pat’s keeper produced a top-class save to secure all three points for the Saints.

It may have been a disappointing result for the Lilywhites, but they produced an excellent performance against one of the top sides in the country, and they were very unlucky not to take something from the game.

DUNDALK FC U14: Graham Donner, Rhys O’Hare, Cian Murphy, Fergal McEneaney, Boris Biekhou, Cian Spaight, Eanna Curran, Fionn McNamara, Jayden Clarke, Danny Putnam, Runako Sweetman. Subs: Conall Alfred, Conall Duffy, Lashawn Lombard, Luke Mulligan, Caimin Hughes, Calum O’Reilly.