Dundalk’s hopes of a 13th FAI Cup win were shattered at Eamonn Deacy Park on Friday night as Division One champions-elect Galway United blitzed the hapless Lilywhites.

John Caulfield’s side went in 4-0 up at the break to all but book their place in the semi-finals on a night to forget for Dundalk in the west.

Stephen Walsh opened the scoring in the eighth minute when he headed home at the far post and Ed McCarthy doubled the advantage with a similar header 12 minutes later.

Maurice Nugent, who had an earlier strike ruled out for a foul, made it 3-0 on the half hour and David Hurley left Dundalk in need of a miracle when he made it 4-0 from the penalty spot with 39 minutes played.

Killian Brouder became the latest Galway player to have the ball in the net when he beat Shepperd in the 54th minute but it was ruled out for an offside flag and Hayden Muller got back to hack Francely Lomboto’s effort away before it crossed the line late on.

Substitute Cameron Elliott forced a save from Brendan Clarke and Robbie McCourt blazed over but a shellshocked Dundalk side never looked like getting back into it and referee David Dunne’s final whistle was a welcome relief for the traveling supporters who stayed to the bitter end.

GALWAY UNITED: Brendan Clarke, Rob Slevin, Killian Brouder, Maurice Nugent, Vincent Borden, Aodh Dervin (Oisin O’Reilly 88), David Hurley, Conor McCormack, Ed McCarthy (Conor O’Keeffe 88), Wassim Aouachria (Francely Lomboto 69), Stephen Walsh (Rob Manley 89). Subs not used: Alex Rutter (GK), Regan Donelon, David Tarmey, Evan O’Connor, Darren Clarke.

DUNDALK FC: Nathan Shepperd, Archie Davies, Darren Brownlie (Cameron Elliott 56), Darragh Leahy (Greg Sloggett 34), Hayden Muller, Johannes Yli-Kokko (Robbie Benson 34), Connor Malley (Robbie McCourt 34), Sam Durrant (Ryan O’Kane 69), Daryl Horgan, Daniel Kelly, Patrick Hoban. Subs not used: Peter Cherrie (GK), John Martin, Paul Doyle, John Mountney.

REFEREE: David Dunne.